In 1985, at “grandmother's Vasiliki's home, which was built in Kalami before 1900, at the ground floor (“Katogi” is the traditional Corfiot word for it) Thomas' s dream started becoming true.
Thomas's love for his birth place and a purely sentimental force in the very beginning were the dreamy material which created the tavern “Pepe's”. The tavern was named after Vasiliki's brother, who had passed away.
Thomas had stood by him, besides his wife Alexandra, his father Spiros, his mother Magdalena and his brother Dimitris.
Spiros, the father, was an original Corfiot character, a man who knew how to overcome life's difficulties with a real talent of what we call “joy of life”.
“Pipis” is no longer with us but he is still somewhere around with his “Kaiki”, always in the hearts of our friend-customers, for he loved them too in a jenuine way and treasured them with his jokes and his endless happy disposition.
The tavern, at the beginning, having nothing but the love and interest of Thomas's family, proved that had a great potential for surviving.
Year after year, the tavern was blessed by a loyal clientele which felt more like being hosted by a good friend and much less served impersonally.
To the tavern's success can be added the traditional greek cuisine, its unique position by the waves and its atmospheric, local colour.
Today, the tavern continues to hold the preferences of Kalami's visitors and has changed its name from “Pepe's” to “Thomas's Place”. It is equipped in a modern fashion, but always respects the traditional cuisine which made it famous.